Breast Cancer / my cancer

Gone

Yesterday we went for a brain MRI to see how the whole brain radiation therapy worked. We’d been waiting for this for two months, as I slowly got stronger, a bit less dizzy and tried to reconcile myself with the idea that I was likely to die within 6 months to a year.

After the scan, we went straight to by radiation oncologist for the preliminary results. The Dr came in to the room and starts high-5ing Todd and me, saying that the MRI looked good. Really good, but I wasn’t prepared for what we saw when we looked at the images ourselves. They’re gone. All 17 lesions (including a couple measuring over 1″) are gone. Al that is left are two ghost spots that the radiation is still working on. The doctor says I’m in remission, basically NED, and I’m still getting my head around it.

happy-bear

I’m still dealing with the side effects from the radiation and the scarring the lesions have left behind, but knowing I can start to plan in longer terms (a year instead of 6 months) it really cool.

9 thoughts on “Gone

  1. Acacia — I’m OVER THE MOON for you!!! You and Todd must be elated! Much love to you. Embrace this wonderful development! XOXO

Leave a Reply

